The Certified Credit Executive® (CCE®) is NACM's executive level designation which endorses its achievers as capable of managing the credit function at an executive level. Candidates must pass a rigorous, four-hour exam which tests application skills in the areas of accounting, finance, domestic and international credit concepts, management and law.

View Course Options to Work Towards your CCE.



Ways to Qualify for the CCE Designation Exam:

Plan A: Hold the CBA and CBF Designations and 125 Career Roadmap Points
Plan A is for individuals new to credit or those looking to acquire the concrete skills and knowledge needed to be successful in the field of credit. This plan is designed for candidates who show the determination to pursue continuing education and higher career goals at a faster pace. Plan A applicants must have successfully earned both the CBA and CBF designations and must submit a Career Roadmap showing a total of 125 documented points. (Because Plan A applicants have already earned the CBF designation which required 75 Roadmap points, 50 additional points will total the 125 required.) There is no minimum work experience requirement under Plan A. An updated copy of your resume must accompany your CCE Application.

Plan B: 10 Years Experience, a Four-year Degree and 125 Career Roadmap Points

Plan B requires that applicants have at least 10 years of full-time experience in the field of business credit or financial management, have a four-year degree and can show evidence of 125 Career Roadmap Points. NACM Career Roadmap points are awarded for education (both formal and continuing), work experience and work-related activities, and local, regional and national NACM participation. The CCE Application form may be submitted along with your resume for evaluation.

Plan C: 15 Years Experience, 57 Years of Age or Older, and 125 Career Roadmap Points
Plan C is an option for candidates who may not have earned a degree from a four-year college or university, but have at least 15 years of experience in credit or financial management. After submitting a CCE application form and a completed Career Roadmap documenting 125 Roadmap Points, candidates will be notified in writing of their eligibility to take the CCE exam.

How to Apply for the CCE Designation

Submit the following to the NACM Education Department:

1.    The Education Department Registration form, with  applicable fee ($175 for NACM members, $350 for non-NACM members), if not submitted previously.

2.    The CCE Designation Application form, with applicable fee ($440 for NACM members, $880 for non-NACM members). You should submit your course grade transcripts with this application.

3.    A copy of your resume.

4.    Official college transcripts. Transcripts must be received directly from your college.

Once you've qualified, you may take the CCE Designation Exam. The four-hour exam is offered three times a year nationwide at local NACM Affiliated Association offices and once a year at NACM's Credit Congress. Exam and paperwork deadline dates may be found here. NACM provides a Study Guide/Outline of relevant texts and topics. NACM also offers CCE review sessions through the Credit Learning Center to assist you in preparing for the CCE exam.  Your local NACM affiliate may also offer CCE review sessions.

GSCFM® Students

Upon successfully completing the Graduate School of Credit and Financial Management® program, students may take the CCE designation exam. The standard application requirements are waived, though these students must take and pass the CCE exam to earn the designation.

CCP HOLDERS (formerly FCI)

Anyone holding the Certified Credit Professional (formerly FCI) certification, Canada's credit designation, who would like to become a CCE should register and apply for the CCE designation. Roadmap points and work experience qualifications will be waived for all CCP's in light of the intensive course regime and testing process required of them in Canada. Candidates need not complete the Career Roadmap, but must submit a copy of their CCP certificate, along with official college transcripts and a current resume. CCP's who register and apply for the CCE examination must also take and pass the same exam as all domestic candidates.

CCE Recertification

CCEs must apply for recertification every three years. During each three-year period, a total of six recertification points must be earned. Three of the six points must be continuing education points and three points must be participation points.

Education points may be earned by:

  • Attending continuing education programs at Conferences, Seminars, Meetings or Roundtables
  • Attending the annual NACM-National Credit Congress
  • Serving as a speaker, presenter or panelist at a local, regional or national educational event on a business credit or financial management topic
  • Teaching courses related to business credit or financial management
  • Completing the Advanced Credit Policy course through NACM's Credit Learning Center
  • Completing self-study courses from our Bookstore, including
    • Fair, Square and Legal
    • How to Manage Conflict in the Organization
    • Leadership Skills for Managers
    • Performance Management
    • Planning and Leading Productive Meetings

Participation points may be earned by:

  • Participating in NACM-sponsored educational Conferences, Seminars, Meetings or Roundtables
  • Serving on the board of directors or as a chair or committee member of a local NACM Affiliated Association, an NACM Industry Credit Group or at the National level of NACM, CFDD or FCIB.
  • Contributing to a Business Credit magazine article
  • Participating in the Credit Manager's Index (CMI)
  • Participating in NACM-National teleconferences or webinars (please note that you must be the registered participant to receive credit)
  • Your company's contribution of its Accounts Receivable Data to an NACM Affiliate credit reporting database.

These are only a few ways which you may accumulate the required recertification points. Please see the CCE recertification brochure for more details

CCE Recertification Form (Download PDF file)

You may find a listing of your NACM education history by visiting and logging in through the link in the upper right corner. Once logged in, click on Check My Account and then Participation to view your CEU earnings, NACM meeting history and CMI survey participation.

CCE Recertification Fees:

Recertification reports are due no later than December 31 of the year of certification expiration. For each three-year period, there is a renewal fee of $200 for members and $350 for nonmembers. Renewal fees are reduced to $175 for members if the renewal application is received by October 31 of the year of certification expiration.

Lifetime CCE Certification

CCEs must apply for recertification every three years until reaching age 60 (or until age 55 and have officially retired from the credit and financial management field.) When you reach age 60 (or 55, having formally retired), you should notify the National Education Department so that you may be granted lifetime certification.